Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 42

Thread: Installing grub2 bootloader in fd0

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    155

    Re: Installing grub2 bootloader in fd0

    Originally Posted by Herman View Post
    There's a really cool new command that comes with GRUB 2 which replaces about a dozen or so other commands and it's designed specifically for automatically making an .iso file with GRUB 2 in it or a GRUB 2 floppy disc image!

    EDIT, Silly me, emulation type is for CD-ROM only, we don't need that for making a floppy, this seems to do something good judging by the terminal feedback,
    Code:

    grub-mkrescue --overlay=/boot/grub --image-type=floppy GRUB2.img

    Can anyone make a floppy disc and try it out to confirm that it really works?

    To make the copy the image file to the floppy disc one would use a command like the following,
    Code:

    dd if=GRUB2.img of=/dev/fd0

    That procedure worked fine Herman, made the Grub2 floppy disc.

    Why am I getting No such device or address when I try to make the floppy disk?

    phil@phil-desktop:~$ grub-mkrescue --overlay=/boot/grub --image-type=floppy GRUB2.img
    Overlaying /boot/grub
    1440+0 records in
    1440+0 records out
    1474560 bytes (1.5 MB) copied, 0.0235827 s, 62.5 MB/s
    phil@phil-desktop:~$ dd if=GRUB2.img of=/dev/fd0
    dd: opening `/dev/fd0': Permission denied
    phil@phil-desktop:~$ sudo dd if=GRUB2.img of=/dev/fd0
    [sudo] password for phil:
    dd: opening `/dev/fd0': No such device or address
    phil@phil-desktop:~$
    Last edited by oldtraveler; November 24th, 2009 at 07:46 PM.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Installing grub2 bootloader in fd0

    Quote Originally Posted by oldtraveler View Post
    Why am I getting permission denied when I try to make the floppy disk?
    Are you putting "sudo" in front of it?
    Code:
    sudo dd if=GRUB2.img of=/dev/fd0
    Back to Xorg...

    Retired.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    155

    Re: Installing grub2 bootloader in fd0

    Quote Originally Posted by drs305 View Post
    Are you putting "sudo" in front of it?
    Code:
    sudo dd if=GRUB2.img of=/dev/fd0
    Used sudo. Then tried using a different floppy. It was written to.

    Still no joy. When booting from the new floppy I am greeted with sh: grub.

    I typed boot. Got error: no loaded kernel.

    Where do I go from here?

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    27

    Re: Installing grub2 bootloader in fd0

    Quote Originally Posted by oldtraveler View Post
    Used sudo. Then tried using a different floppy. It was written to.

    Still no joy. When booting from the new floppy I am greeted with sh: grub.

    I typed boot. Got error: no loaded kernel.

    Where do I go from here?
    You have to issue some grub commands before you finally type boot. It sounds like you've never used grub's command shell before. It's not too friendly. I posted an example of what I did to get Ubuntu to boot earlier in this thread.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    155

    Re: Installing grub2 bootloader in fd0

    Quote Originally Posted by agrimstad View Post
    You have to issue some grub commands before you finally type boot. It sounds like you've never used grub's command shell before. It's not too friendly. I posted an example of what I did to get Ubuntu to boot earlier in this thread.
    I tried using your grub commands, but when I got to the second one - grub> insmod /grub/linux.mod - I got an error saying no such disk. Also got errors with the 3rd and 4th grub commands.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    27

    Re: Installing grub2 bootloader in fd0

    Quote Originally Posted by oldtraveler View Post
    I tried using your grub commands, but when I got to the second one - grub> insmod /grub/linux.mod - I got an error saying no such disk. Also got errors with the 3rd and 4th grub commands.
    As I said, it's not user friendly.

    I suspect what's happening is that whatever defaults grub2 has don't correspond to your disk partitioning scheme.

    If you only have one hard drive and both / and /boot are on its first partition, which is probably a pretty common situation, I think the insmod command would be something like:

    grub> insmod (hd0,1)/boot/grub/linux.mod

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    155

    Re: Installing grub2 bootloader in fd0

    I have two internal drives with an XP OS on the first disk and the Ubuntu OS on the 2nd disk at hdb5.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    27

    Re: Installing grub2 bootloader in fd0

    Quote Originally Posted by oldtraveler View Post
    I have two internal drives with an XP OS on the first disk and the Ubuntu OS on the 2nd disk at hdb5.
    You know, learning grub stuff starting with grub 2 isn't the easiest way to go about it.

    It sounds as if your linux (ubuntu) installation is then on (hd1,5). Your various partitions visible to grub should be shown when you issue the ls command. (You did read the manual, right?) So, assuming then that (hd1,5) is right--it showed up when you did

    grub> ls

    Then you could try:

    grub> set root=(hd1,5)

    To verify that this is correct--and I assume that / and /boot are on the same partition--do:

    grub> ls /boot

    You should see the grub directory.

    grub> ls /

    If you see your kernel and initrd image there, you're cooking with gas. The sequence is probably:

    grub> insmod /boot/grub/linux.mod
    grub> linux /vmlinuz-... root=/dev/hdb5

    "..." is the rest of the kernel image file name.

    grub> initrd /initrd-...
    grub> boot

    If you want to boot windows from the grub shell, you'll have to ask somebody else.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Installing grub2 bootloader in fd0

    If the previous suggestions don't work in loading a module, try this:

    At a grub or grub-rescue prompt:
    Even after setting the correct root, in my experiments with Grub 2 to add a module I had to run the complete path, such as:
    insmod (hd0,1)/boot/grub/linux.mod
    Back to Xorg...

    Retired.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    155

    Re: Installing grub2 bootloader in fd0

    I have tried both #18 and #19 above. grub> ls shows several partitions on both disks such as hd1,5 etc.,but still no joy. "File not found" for everything after that.

    Start Up Manager made an easy floppy for grub in 9.04, but this new grub2 doesn't create a similar floppy.

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •